Uncategorized

You just got Ndamukonged!

Everyone who’s played fantasy football knows the feeling. It’s the week when all your star players get shut down at once. Or the week when you leave 60 points on the bench. Or when you go to bed during the 4th quarter of the Monday night game with a comfortable lead, only to wake up having lost on a garbage time touchdown from a 3rd stringer. However it happens, the feeling is the same. It’s the fantasy-nerd version of lying down and being kicked in the head by a 300 pound defensive lineman. And it doesn’t really matter whether that lineman was just regaining his balance or stomping on your head with purpose; the blow is the same either way.

This weekend I started Mike Wallace, Steve Smith, Ben Tate, Jason Witten and Julio Jones, who had a combined total of 18 points. Between the five of them. My performance was wretched. I had been Ndamukonged. To make matters worse, my starting QB, Drew Brees, then went and put up 51 fantasy points. I was within 9 points of winning my match-up–one more TD pass or another 40 yds could have put me ahead, but no. Julio Jones had been a last minute start, and in his place I left Damian Williams on the bench with over 10 points. Oh well, such is life.

Fortunately, getting Ndamukonged can happen to anyone. The guy who would’ve overtaken me for 3rd place lost thanks to Mark Ingraham’s touchdown that came after the 2 minute warning. I guess it you’re lying on the field getting your head kicked, it feels pretty good to look over and see one of your opponent’s head getting kicked as well….

P.S. I’ve been starting Detroit Defense all season, which Ndamukongs me on so many different levels.

Discussion

One thought on “You just got Ndamukonged!

  1. Because I Lost most games out of my season, I pretty much often felt like this. Obviously, not to our extent, as I was used to losing. Each week though, I would look at the points my starters got and compare them to the ones i sat out. Finally, mid-season, I had to force myself to stop doing that or risk raising my own blood pressure.

    Posted by tparmar | December 1, 2011, 4:17 am

Leave a Reply

